Don Young again listed as "Most Corrupt Members of Congress"

CREW releases fifth annual report

Today, Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington (CREW) released its fifth annual report on the most corrupt members of Congress.

Don Young

CREW's Most Corrupt Members of Congress provides a detailed analysis of the unethical and sometimes illegal activities of 15 congressmen and women who have most egregiously betrayed the public's trust.

CREW also has launched the report's tandem website, , which offers short summaries of each member's transgressions as well as the full-length profiles and all accompanying exhibits.

New to this year's list are Senators Roland Burris and John Ensign, and Representatives Nathan Deal, Jesse Jackson, Jr. and Pete Visclosky. After a two year absence, Rep. Maxine Waters has reappeared in the study for unethical activities unrelated to the conduct that landed her on the list in the past. A detailed list of those who have previously graced the report can be found on the website.

Of this year's list of 15, at least 12 are under investigation: Reps. Ken Calvert, Jerry Lewis, Alan Mollohan, John Murtha, Pete Visclosky and Don Young are under Department of Justice (DOJ) investigations, while Sens. Roland Burris and John Ensign and Reps. Charles Rangel and Laura Richardson are under congressional ethics committee investigations. Rep. Jesse Jackson, Jr. is under investigation by both the DOJ and the Office of Congressional Ethics and Rep. Vern Buchanan is being investigated by the Federal Election Commission.

Melanie Sloan, executive director of CREW, said today, "With the economy in a free-fall, unemployment rates at record highs and health care solutions still nowhere in sight, members should be spending their time looking for answers to the nation's problems, not finding new ways to enrich themselves."

Sloan continued, "The members of Congress profiled in CREW's Most Corrupt report have betrayed those who voted them into office. This report holds them accountable for their bad choices."

The 15 most corrupt members of Congress are:

Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-FL)

Sen. Roland Burris (D-IL)

Rep. Ken Calvert (R-CA)

Rep. Nathan Deal (R-GA)

Sen. John Ensign (R-NV)

Rep. Jesse Jackson, Jr. (D-IL)

Rep. Jerry Lewis (R-CA)

Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY)

Rep. Alan Mollohan (D-WV)

Rep. John Murtha (D-PA)

Rep. Charles Rangel (D-NY)

Rep. Laura Richardson (D-CA)

Rep. Pete Visclosky (D-IN)

Rep. Maxine Waters (D-CA)

Rep. Don Young (R-AK)

Click here to read Rep.Young's profile.

Click here to visit

Click here to read CREW's full report.

Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington (CREW) is a non-profit legal watchdog group dedicated to holding public officials accountable for their actions.

© All Rights Reserved.