Veco's Dirty Dozen

October 23, 2007

By Ray Metcalfe - The following twelve Alaska legislators all have four things in common:

The following twelve Alaska legislators all have four things in common:

1. Every one of them has taken more than $10,000 from Veco.

2. When Veco owner Bill Allen asked to be relieved of his requirement to register as a lobbyist, they crafted and passed legislation ending Bill Allen's requirement to register.

3. When presented with hundreds of pages of evidence of Veco's bribery, each of them refused to respond.

4. When asked to admit or deny under oath whether or not had taken advantage of the illegal polling, services that Veco's Vice President Rick Smith admitted having provided to over 100 of their favored candidates, every one of the still seated legislators below refused comment.

1. Mike Chenault, $32,000

2. Ralph Samuels, $10,250

3. Mike Hawker, $21,350

4. Lesil McGuire, $17,550

5. Lyda Green, $18,000

6. Kevin Meyer, $23,350

7. John Cowdery, $45,200

8. Con Bunde, $18,650

9. John Coghill Jr, $10,480

10. Richard Foster, $16,750

11. Fred Dyson, $21,700

12. Gary Stevens, $14,275

Watch closely as they go to bat for everything Veco fought for --- and remember them next election.

Ray Metcalfe is a former Republican legislator from Anchorage and longtime government watchdog. He is chairman of the Republican Moderate Party. Contact him at

AlaskaReport's ongoing Alaska corruption coverage:'s Corrupt Bastard Club Stories

Corrupt Republican Anderson begs for mercy

Pete Kott guilty of bribery, conspiracy, and extortion

Kott Jr. unbelieveable on witness stand

Ted Stevens implicated in bribery during Kott trial

Legislators still stumping for VECO - By Ray Metcalfe

© AlaskaReport News